For the last 10 months my job has taken me into this part of Wyoming and Nebraska.  That job ended today as the company I have been working for closed our lab.  I have had the opportunity to explore the highways, back roads, high roads, graveyards, feedlots, pastures, open range, small towns, ranches, farms, bluffs, waterways and everything in between.  This blog is the result of that time.  Hundreds of photographs and thoughts are the result of my time here.

It started last November with a few simple images and has grown to a level I never imagined.  During this journey I have rediscovered an appreciation of the land and my relationship with it as well as myself as an artist.  My ultimate goal is to produce a book on this adventure.  I believe my documentation of this area of the United States has never achieved this level of in-depth seeing.

Very soon I will be creating a page of photographs that will be available in a limited edition.  The proceeds of the sale will help fund the publication of the book “Visions from the Vortex”.

I have not decided how I will proceed with new work as this body is from the Vortex.  I will continue shooting wherever I am..I have no choice.

Love and ease to all of you,

Chris

THE FINAL SUNRISE  8-31-2012

 

11 thoughts on “The Change is today – The final sunrise from Visions of the Vortex

  1. Great shot! And many happy wishes on your next endeavor. Life constantly changes. Interesting thought: while we are ever changing beings some of what you have photographed has remained the same for 100’s of years.

  2. I have really enjoyed your explorations of the area! Creative minds and free spirits know how to live in the moment and make the best of whatever they are doing! Kudos to you! I hope you are well, and look forward to the next stage!

    1. Thank you Christie. I am thinking of reorganizing this blog and reposting earlier work from the vortex. Some..actually most of the early work has not been seen by the folks here. What do you think?

      1. I think that is a great idea! I believe we learn for re-looking at, sometimes re-working, our work, and it would look good reposted, reorganized!!! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

